The Last of the Moon Girls summary

The Last of the Moon Girls summary

The Last of the Moon Girls by Barbara Davis (Author)

The tale of memory, secrets, and forgiveness within a family, as told by one of the bestselling authors, Barbara Davis.

Although she is inherited the Moon Girl Farm, Lizzy Moon never wanted it. As she left her ancestor land eight years ago, she also wanted to forfeit the rumors about her family, with nine generations of healers. Recently, Althea – her grandmother dies, which abruptly ended her getaway, forcing Lizzy to come back. She can no longer avoid the tragedy that has haunted the Farm ever since: the mysterious murders of two young girls and the unresolved accusation that follow Althea down to her grave.

It is Lizzy’s dear wish that she returns to her hard-earned life in New York and sells the farm so that she can shake her hands off it. In the middle of the process, she finds Althea’s journal, which explains why the gift that runs through the family is so precious. As Lizzy embraces her nature, she also stumbles upon Andrew Greyson, one of the few who attests to Althea’s innocence. The two decide to clear the grandmother’s name to the world and solve the mystery once and for all.

 

Making this choice also means that Lizzy has to accept the legacy of her family, and took the path that previous Moon women have followed. Is this what she really wants? And will she regret her choice? Readers are going to enjoy the tension that is led by the narrators. The language is also beautiful and the storytelling is skilled. Many admire the fierce independence held by the protagonist, who believes that her own self-limiting beliefs are the things that stop her from achieving what she wants. The book is equally mysterious and realistic, this is a captivating story that is going to get you under its spell.  

  • Author
  • Editorial Reviews
  • From the Publisher

Biography

author

After twelve years in the jewelry industry, I finally surrendered to the muse, leaving the corporate world in order to pursue my lifelong dream of becoming a writer. I was born in Fair Lawn, New Jersey, but grew up and attended school in Florida. Eventually, work led me north, where I lived in Charleston for two years, and in Raleigh for fourteen, before eventually making my home in Dover, New Hampshire, which makes me a Yankee, turned southerner, turned Yankee. (I think.)

When I'm not writing I'm an avid reader, foodie, and lover of music, a rabid football fan, and a devoted Florida Gator. I also enjoy travel with my husband/sweetheart, (same guy, I promise) who over the years has learned much more about publishing and the craft of writing than he ever wanted to know.

My most recent novel, THE LAST OF THE MOON GIRLS, releases August 1, 2020. I am currently working on my seventh novel, and am still just as delighted with my job as I was the day I set my first word on the page!

Review

“Fans of Tana French, Alena Dillon, and Hannah Mary McKinnon will adore Davis’ multilayered tale of intrigue, romance, and long-held biases set straight.” Booklist

“Davis uses a fine brush to draw complex, colorful characters, including a fiercely independent protagonist whose greatest obstacle is her own self-limiting beliefs. Stepped in equal parts magical realism and beguiling mystery, The Last of the Moon Girls is a captivating story that will leave you under its luminous spell long after you turn the last page.” —Eldonna Edwards, award-winning author of This I Know and Clover Blue

The Last of the Moon Girls is an enchanting tale of letting go and finding forgiveness. A five-star must read.” —Bette Lee Crosby, bestselling author of Emily, Gone

“Woven through the compelling mystery and suspense that keep the pages of The Last of the Moon Girls turning is a story of a powerful family legacy and the discovery of the best kind of magic—that of embracing our own gifts and finding our place in the world. A glorious, shimmering read that resonated in my soul long after I finished reading.” —Kerry Anne King, bestselling author of Everything You Are

The Last of the Moon Girls is reminiscent of two of my all-time favorites, Sarah Addison Allen’s Garden Spells [and] Alice Hoffman’s Practical Magic, because it’s witchy, full of plant magic, and painfully human.” —Kristen Fields, bestselling author of Lily in the Light

The Last of the Moon Girls is a fantastic blend of mystery and magic, with the perfect dash of romance…a story of family and forgiveness and what it truly means to come home. From the first page to the last, I was riveted by the fascinating, heartbreaking story of the many generations of Moon girls—and, like all the best novels, I was sad when I turned the last page.” —Jane Healey, bestselling author of The Beantown Girls